History of the River-Friendly Farmer Award

Since 1999, key conservation and agricultural organizations have sponsored the River Friendly Farmer (RFF) Program. The statewide initiative recognizes farmers, who through good production management practices helps keep Indiana’s rivers, lakes and streams clean.

Annually, each county Soil and Water Conservation District may nominate up to two farmers who do an outstanding job of protecting their rivers, lakes and streams through their every day conservation management practices on the farm. Watershed organizations also may nominate farmers for the award by submitting an application to a county SWCD.

2017 River-Friendly Farmer Information:

All applications must be submitted online at the link provided below. If you would like to print out the application to have the questions available, that pdf link is below as well. Applications and Signature pages are both due no later than end of  business on June 16, 2017. Thank you! 

2017 Nominee applications ONLINE –  NOW AVAILABLE!

2017 Nominee applications (pdf form) – available if needed to refer to before entering the information into the online application.

2017 RFF Signature Page 

2017 Awards Ceremony:  Wednesday, August 16, 2017 at 1:00 p.m.  in the 4-H Exhibitors Hall (2nd floor) at the Indiana State Fairgrounds. (Check in time: TBD)


Download a complete list of past River Friendly Farmer Award recipients